Home

Scottish lad tells his mate that he’s getting married and that he plans to wear the kilt.
“Ahh what’s the tartan?” asks his mate.
“Oh, she’ll be wearing a white dress”

I denounce and reject myself. That is an atrocious joke.
As a lass who grew up just South of the Scottish border, I’ve always felt like a bit of a fraud wearing tartan, and when I have I’ve felt a bit ‘Clueless’ / Halloween costume, y’know?
So I think the reason that I permitted myself to purchase this particular tartan is because it is whimsical and stiff cotton with a light sheen. It neither looks like a wannabe kilt, nor does it scream Britney Spears circa the good times.
Here is a close up (I was too excited to show it to you to bother with ironing)IMG952687 The skirt is my usual dirndl construction. I made a wide waist band to eliminate any muffin-related-illusions and a zip up the back which is mostly concealed by the skirt’s pleats.IMG952690
unnamed (1)unnamed

-FINISHED!

Leave a Reply

